To file a complaint online, click here.
Here’s a snapshot of Mississippi’s laws regarding deceptive advertising:
Mississippi Code § 75-24-5: Lists a number of acts that are deemed unfair or deceptive trade practices, including, but not limited to, advertising goods or services with the intent not to sell them as advertised.
Some of the penalties that fraudulent or deceptive advertisers may suffer in Mississippi include:
- Revocation of a license or certificate to engage in business in the state of Mississippi (Mississippi Code § 75-24-11)
- Up to $10,000 per violation of the law against deceptive advertising, if the violation was knowing and willful (Mississippi Code § 75-24-19);
- Up to $10,000 per violation of an injunction (Mississippi Code § 75-24-19);
Small Claims Court in Mississippi
If you’re not trying to recover big bucks, but rather just trying to recoup the money you spent on a product or service after being duped by a false ad, then you might consider filing a lawsuit in Small Claims Court.
For general info about filing a lawsuit in Small Claims Court, click here.
For info on how to file a Small Claims lawsuit in Mississippi, click here.
Researching Consumer Complaints
To obtain copies of complaints consumers have filed against a business, you can send a Freedom of Information request to:
Consumer Protection Division
MS Attorney General’s Office
P.O. Box 220
Jackson, MS 39205
A sample Freedom of Information request can be found here.
**Please note that this page is informational only and does not take the place of legal advice. Please also note that the above summary is meant to provide a brief look at the laws in Mississippi, and not a comprehensive list.**
The chief law enforcement official in each one of the 50 states; also refers to the person heading the federal government’s Justice Department
A court order that requires a person or company to do a particular act or to refrain from doing a particular act. Example? A court order prohibiting a company from using an ad that’s been deemed deceptive.